Anglican – Old Catholic International Coordinating Council met in Beuggen/DE 2010


The Anglican-Old Catholic International Co-ordinating Council (AOCICC) met in Schloss Beuggen, Germany from 8 to 12 November 2010. The Council welcomed Canon Dr Alyson Barnett-Cowan, Director for Unity Faith and Order at the Anglican Communion Office, as Anglican Co-Secretary.

In its most important piece of work, the Council finalized the text of a common statement on ecclesiology and mission ‘Belonging Together in Europe’. This version of the text will be the major focus of the International Old Catholic and Anglican Theological Conference to be held in Neustadt/W. (Germany) from August 29 to September 2, 2011.

The members received reports of developments in the Anglican Communion and in the Old Catholic churches of the Union of Utrecht, and reviewed present ecumenical dialogues in which our churches are engaged. A paper by Bishop Pierre Whalon of the Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe, entitled “Should The Episcopal Church Create a Missionary Diocese in Europe?” sparked discussion by members of the Council of their churches’ mission perspectives.

The Council participated in daily prayer with the community in Schloss Beuggen and celebrated the Eucharist together.   Bible study was led each morning by members of the Council. The Council attended Vespers presided at by Fr Peter Grüter at St Martin’s Old Catholic church in Rheinfelden, Switzerland, and enjoyed a dinner hosted by Bishop Harald Rein and the church council of the Old Catholic Church of Switzerland.

The next meeting of the Council will take place November 4-8, 2011 in York, England, and will include the annual celebration of the Feast of St Willibrord with the Society of St Willibrord.

For further information, please contact the Revd Professor Dr Angela Berlis, tel +41 (0)31 631 4193, email, or Canon Dr Alyson Barnett-Cowan at the Anglican Communion Office, tel +44 (0)20 7313 3930, email
Websites: and


Present at this meeting were:


The Rt Revd Jonathan Gledhill, Co-chair

Canon Dr Alyson Barnett-Cowan, Co-secretary

The Rt Revd David Hamid

Mrs Maryon Jägers

The Revd Carola von Wrangel, Consultant

Mr Neil Vigers, Anglican Communion Office


Old Catholics

The Rt Revd Joachim Vobbe, Co-chair

The Revd Professor Dr Angela Berlis, Co-secretary

The Revd Henriette Crüwell

The Revd Professor Dr David R Holeton

The Rt Revd Dr Dick Schoon

The Revd Lars Simpson, Administrative Support and Interpreter